Billiat inspires Sundowns to victory over “brave” Chicken Inn

Zimbabwean international Khama Billiat inspired Mamelodi Sundowns to a 2-0 win over Chicken Inn at the Lucas  Moripe Stadium this evening.

Also read: Mamelodi Sundowns v Chicken Inn as it happened 

Billiat earned Sundowns a stoppage time penalty and provided the assist for the first goal.

The early exchanges saw Sundowns settle more quickly and threaten the Chicken Inn goal but the defence held strong.

With Sundowns having the bulk of the possession Chicken Inn front trio of Chirambadare,Katsvairo and Tarumbwa tried to catch the home side on the break.

In the 35th minute Sundowns went in front when Billiat’s well taken free kick was headed in by Arendse who found himself unmarked in the box.

Two minutes from halftime Sundowns could have equalised when Katsvairo’s shot hit the post from a tight angle with the Sundowns keeper beaten.

Halftime came with Sundowns carrying a 1-0 lead. Just after the break Billiat continued to be a menace when he made a fine run into the box but couldn’t get a precise cut back.

In the 51st minute Obadiah Tarumbwa had a great chance to score but failed to get his shot on target.

Four minutes late Billiat almost put Sundowns 2 up when he hit the post and Castro’s couldn’t put the rebound in.

Sundowns continued to open up the Chicken Inn defence with Laffor and Castro all getting opportunities but failing to bury them.

In the 82nd minute Katsvairo and substitute Moses Demera almost combined to score but the later could not get a clean shot.

With the match heading for a shoot-out Billiat made a run into the box and was fouled by Passmore Bernard . The referee immediately pointed to spot which despite Chicken Inn protests Mashego scored to wrap up the win on a 2-1 aggregate.

Despite the brave display the Gamecocks’ first experience in the African Safari came to an end at the first round.

Sundowns:  Onyango, Mashaba, Mbekile, Langerman, Nthethe, Arendse, Kekana, Soumahoro, Dolly, Billiat, Castro.

Chicken Inn:  Chipezeze, Phiri, Bernard, Lunga, Jackson, Mhlanga, Kutinyu, Madhazi, Chirambadare, Tarumbwa and Katsvairo.


Copyright © Soccer24, 2023. All Rights Reserved