FIFA has confirmed that Africa will be allocated nine places in an expanded World Cup. The decision was ratified by the FIFA Council in Bahrain earlier on Tuesday.

The 2026 tournament will feature a total of 48 teams.

Allocation according to region:

Asia: 8 direct slots – increased from 4.5 (currently 46 members)

Africa: 9 direct slots – increased from 5 (currently 54 members)

North and central America: 6 direct slots – increased from 3.5 (currently 34 members)

South America: 6 direct slots

Oceania: 1 direct slot

Europe: 16 direct slots

Final two place in 2026 decided by six-team play-offs

Quick NetOne, Telecel, Africom, And Econet Airtime Recharge

If anything goes wrong, chat with us using the chat feature at the bottom right of this screen