Manchester United crowned UEFA Europa League champions

Manchester United have won the 2016-17 Europa League title courtesy of a 2-0 win against Ajax in the final at the Friends Arena in Stockholm this evening.

United collected the only major trophy which had previously eluded them in their illustrious history as goals from Paul Pogba and Henrikh Mkhitaryan fired them to glory in Sweden.

The victory means that United join Ajax in a select group of just five clubs to have won every major European trophy, adding their first Europa League crown to their three Champions League titles and one Cup Winners’ Cup.

It also secures a passage into the group stages of next season’s Champions League, ensuring that they will join Chelsea, Tottenham Hotspur, Manchester City and Liverpool at the top table of European football despite having finished only sixth in the Premier League table.

Copyright © Soccer24, 2023. All Rights Reserved