Zimbabwe Under 20 boys team coach Bekithemba Ndlovu has named a 29-member provisional squad ahead of the Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (COSAFA) Championships to be hosted by Zambia in December.

Ndlovu, together with  his assistant Mark Mathe, conducted recruitment and selection processes in Bulawayo and Harare early in November to come up with a competitive team for the upcoming tournament.

Bantu Rovers’ inclination towards developmental football saw them contributing three players while Highlanders and How Mine have four and three players each, respectively.

Yadah FC’s Leroy Mavunga – who was part of the COSAFA winning senior team – has also been selected to compete for a place in the final squad.

Dynamos, Aces Youth Academy and Bulawayo City are among other teams whose players were considered in the training squad.

The date for commencement of preparations will be announced soon.

Meanwhile, the tournament will run from the 6th to the 16th of December.

Twelve participating teams are in three groups of four teams each,  all group winners will secure automatic spots in the semi-finals and the best runner up will complete the quartet.

Zimbabwe are in Group C alongside Lesotho, Namibia and Angola.

Group A is made up of holders Zambia, Uganda, Malawi and Swaziland while South Africa, Mozambique, Egypt and Mauritius are in Group B

Provisional Squad:

Onil Benson (ZPC Kariba), Reward Muza (Chicken Inn), Issah Ali (Caps United)

Bukhosi Ncube (Highlanders), Mbongiseni Ndlovu (Highlanders), Nyasha Garayi (Bantu Rovers), Kudzashe Dzingwe (Bantu Rovers), Nkosana Ndlovu (Highlanders), Terrance Daka (Aces Youth Academy) Collins Mujuru (Aces Youth Academy), Denzel Taderera (Shabanie Mine), Davison Ncube (Chapungu)

Enock Karembo (Yadah Stars), Malvin Kwinjo (Ngezi Platinum Stars), Nivholas Guyo (Aces Youth Academy), Leroy Mavunga (Yadah Stars), Blessing Nyamuzihwa (ZPC Kariba), Shadreck Nyahwa (Bantu Rovers), Tatenda Muringani (Dynamos), Dumoluhle Lunga (Blawayo City), Denzel Khumalo (Highlanders), Tanaka Chanengeta (How Mine), Clive Rupiya (Bulawayo City)

Nqobile Ndlovu (How Mine), Brighton Ncube (How Mine), Delic Murimba (Hwange), Kudakwashe Mangami (Bantu FC, South Africa) Mandla Mlilo (Ngezi Platinum Stars), King Nasama (Dynamos) – ZIFA