Mapeza, Chinyengetere win big at CLPSL Awards

thumb image

FC Platinum’s Rodwell Chinyengetere was crowned 2017 Soccer Star of the Year at an event held in Harare on Friday night.

Chinyengetere beat Ocean Mushure and teammate Kelvin Moyo who were second and first runner up respectively.

Another big award also went to FC Platinum after Norman Mapeza won in Coach of the year category, beating his closest rival Lloyd Mutasa.

Yadah FC youngster Leeroy Mavhunga was named the most promising player of the year.

The 18 year old had a fantastic season and got his first national cap during the 2017 COSAF Cup held in South Africa.

Elvis Chipezeze won the Goalkeeper of the year award while CAPS United striker Dominic Chungwa received the golden boot award after finishing the season with 17 goals.

Ruzive Ruzive picked up the referee of the year award for another successive year. Nomore Musundire and Luckson Mhara were first and second runner up respectively.

List of winners

  • Soccer star of the year for 2017 is Rodwell Chinyengetere (FC Platinum)
  • Player of the year – 1st Runner Up : Kelvin Moyo (FC Platinum)
  • Player of the year – 2nd Runner : Ocean Mushure (Dynamos)
  • Golden Boot Award – Dominic Chungwa (CAPS United)
  • Goalkeeper of the year Elvis Chipezeze (Chicken Inn)
  • Most promising player of the year – Leeroy Mavhunga (Yadah Stars)
  • Coach of the year – Norman Mapeza (FC Platinum)
  • Referee of the year- Ruzive Ruzive
    First Runner Up- Nomore Musundire
    Second Runner Up- Luckson Mhara
  • Best Disciplined Team: Triangle United