Barcelona captain Lionel Messi was on Tuesday crowned the world best player of the year at the 2019 Best FIFA awards ahead of Virgil van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo – but who did they back for the award?

Ronaldo didn’t vote for either of his rivals and opted to pick Juventus teammate Matthijs de Ligt as his first choice, followed by another former Ajax player Frenkie de Jong and PSG’s Kylian Mbappe.

Messi, however, put his long-time rival as runner-up behind Liverpool’s Sadio Mane who didn’t make it into the final nominees.

Mane was also placed on top of Eden Hazard’s list while Algerian winger Riyad Mahrez put him in second.

van Dijk who finished second in the category picked winner Messi as his best player and placed his Liverpool team-mates Mane and Mo Salah in second and third positions respectively, snubbing Ronaldo.

Here’s how the top national team captains and coaches voted for the grand prize:

Eden Hazard (Belgium) : Mane, van Dijk, Messi
Lionel Messi (Argentina) : Mane, Ronaldo, de Jong
Riyad Mahrez (Algeria) : Messi, Mane, Salah
Luka Modric (Croatia) : Ronaldo, Hazard, Messi
Harry Kane (England) : Messi, van Dijk, Ronaldo
Hugo Lloris (Tottenham) : Messi, Ronaldo, Mbappe
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon) : Ronaldo, Hazard, Messi
Manuel Neuer (Germany) : Van Dijk, Mane, Hazard
Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands) : Messi, Salah, Mane
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) : de Ligt, de Jong, Mbappe
Robert Lewandowski (Poland) : van Dijk, Mane, de Jong
Andy Robertson (Scotland) : van Dijk, de Jong, Mane
Granit Xhaka (Switzerland) : Ronaldo, van Dijk, Messi

Gareth Southgate (England) : Messi, Ronaldo, van Dijk
Didier Deschamps (France) : Mbappe, Ronaldo, Messi
Joachim Low (Germany) : Hazard, Mbappe, Mane
Roberto Mancini (Italy) : Ronaldo, Messi, Salah
Ronald Koeman (Netherlands) : van Dijk, Messi, de Jong
Andrii Shevchenko (Ukraine) : Salah, Ronaldo, Messi
Ryan Giggs (Wales) : Ronaldo, Messi, van Dijk