The national women’s side, Mighty Warriors, will begin the 2020 African Women’s Cup of Nations qualifiers in the first round.

The Sithethelelwe Sibanda-coached team will face Mauritius in April 2020, starting with a home leg.

Should Zimbabwe triumph in their first-round tie, they will face the winners between Zambia and Mozambique in the last qualifying round scheduled for June.

The Mighty Warriors will be looking to return to the competition after they failed to qualify for the 2018 AWCON edition. The team has also struggled in other campaigns of late, missing a spot at the 2020 Olympics games.

Eight nations have been given byes into the second round, including defending champions Nigeria along with Equatorial Guinea, Cameroon, Morocco, Mali, Ghana, South Africa and Cote d’Ivoire.

11 winners of the second round will qualify for the 12-team final tournament billed to be staged between November 23 to December 1.

First round fixtures:
Zambia vs Mozambique
Malawi vs Eswatini
Zimbabwe vs Mauritius
Namibia vs Botswana
Gabon vs Central Africa
Angola vs Congo
DR Congo vs Sao Tome and Principe
Tanzania vs Kenya
Burundi vs Uganda
Ethiopia vs Djibouti
Liberia vs Senegal
Gambia vs Guinea Bissau
Togo vs Niger
Algeria vs Burkina Faso