2019 CAF Awards: Everything you need to know

thumb image

Manchester City star Riyad Mahrez along with Liverpool duo Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah are the three finalists in contention for CAF Men’s Player of the Year award.

The women’s shortlist involves Ajara Nchout of Cameroon and Valerenga, Asisat Oshoala of Nigeria and Barcelona and South Africa’s Beijing Phoenix FC star Thembi Kgatlana.

Date and Venue

The winners will be announced at the Caf Awards ceremony on 7 January at Albatros Citadel Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada, Egypt.

TV Details & Streaming

The Awards will not be broadcast on SuperSport TV due to TV rights issue which has seen a blackout of CAF content since October.

However, fans can watch the awards ceremony via streaming on CAF’s digital channels or follow live updates here on Soccer24.co.zw.

Full list of shortlists are as follows (in alphabetical order):

African Player of the Year
Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

African Women’s Player of the Year
Ajara Nchout (Cameroon & Valerenga)
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)
Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Beijing Phoenix FC)

African Interclubs Player of the Year
Anice Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)
Tarek Hamed (Egypt & Zamalek)
Youcef Belaïli (Algeria & Esperance / Ahli Jeddah)

African Youth Player of the Year
Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)
Samuel Chukwueze (Nigeria & Villarreal)
Victor Osimhen (Nigeria & Lille)

African Men’s Coach of the Year
Aliou Cisse (Senegal – Senegal)
Djamel Belmadi (Algeria – Algeria)
Moïne Chaâbani (Tunisia – Esperance)

African Women’s Coach of the Year
Alain Djeumfa (Cameroon)
Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

African Men’s National Team of the Year

African Women’s National Team of the Year
South Africa