Belgium squad for 2020 EURO announced

thumb image

Belgium coach Roberto Martinez has named a 26-member squad for the rescheduled 2020 UEFA Euro Championship set for June.

The final selection includes Real Madrid duo of goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois Eden Hazard of Real Madrid, Chelsea’s Michy Batshuayi, Crystal Palace’s Christian Benteke, Manchester City midfielder Kevin De Bruyne and Inter’s Romelu Lukaku.

Martinez also selected a group of 11 reserve players who could step up in case of injuries ahead of the tournament, which opens on June 11.

Belgium will play in Group B opener against Russia on June 12 before facing Denmark and Finland in the following games.


Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid), Simon Mignolet (Club Brugge), Matz Sels (Strasbourg)

Defenders: Jan Vertonghen (Benfica), Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham), Thomas Vermaelen (Vissel Kobe), Dedryck Boyata (Hertha Berlin), Jason Denayer (Lyon)

Midfielders: Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Axel Witsel (Borussia Dortmund), Youri Tielemans (Leicester), Leander Dendoncker (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Hans Vanaken (Club Brugge), Dennis Praet (Leicester), Thomas Meunier (Borussia Dortmund), Yannick Carrasco (Atletico Madrid), Thorgan Hazard (Borussia Dortmund), Timothy Castagne (Leicester), Nacer Chadli (Istanbul Basaksehir)

Forwards: Eden Hazard (Real Madrid), Romelu Lukaku (Inter Milan), Dries Mertens (Napoli), Michy Batshuayi (Crystal Palace), Christian Benteke (Crystal Palace), Jeremy Doku (Rennes), Leandro Trossard (Brighton)