Follow our live coverage of the Afcon 2021, Group B encounter between Malawi and Zimbabwe.


Malawi 2-1 Zimbabwe

90+4′ Fulltime.

90′ Four minutes added.

89′ Zemura breaks away but is muscled off the ball. Goal kick to Malawi.

85′ Zimbabwe showing no intent to recover.

84′ Zim Sub: Mahachi replaces injured Wadi.

83′ Gerald Phiri and Charles Petro replace Chimwemwe Idana and Francisco Madinga.

79′ Wadi twists his ankle and goes down in pain. Play temporarily stopped for him to get medical attention.

78′ Zim Sub: Muskwe replaces Musona.

75′ Chaziya is at the end of a cross from a short corner kick but fails to connect properly and his effort goes out.

72′ Kadewere’s effort goes out, no problem for Malawi.

71′ Hadebe having a bad time on pitch. The defender fails to clear the ball and Idana picks it but shoots wide.

70′ Zim falling behind the pace as they fail to complete a move beyond their half.

68′ Zim Sub: Zemura replaces Kangwa.

65′ Malawi Sub: Peter Banda and Yamikani Chester replaces Richard Mbulu and Khuda Myaba.

58′ Goal!!! Hadebe makes an awful mistake at the back and Mhango capitalises to send Malawi ahead.

56′ Corner kick to Zim, Takwara connects it with a header which blocked, A rebound gets a deflection which brushes the post on its way out for another conner kick.

53′ Play temporarily stopped as Wadi receives medical attention.

50′ Big Chance: Madinga evades his two markers, picks up a through ball and tries a shot from a tight angle but brushes his effort against the cross bar.

48′ Yellow card to Sanudi (Malawi) for a foul on Benyu.

46′ Warriors with a quick build-up with Benyu linking up Musona who tries a low cross. Malawi clear their lines.

46′ Zim gets the second half underway.

-Half time.

44′ Goal!!! Malawi with a quick response. Hadebe mistimes his header and Mhango picks the ball, taps it past Mhari to level up things for Malawi.

39′ Goal!!!! Wadi sends Zim ahead with a looping header off Bhasera’s cross.

37′ Zim gets another freekick in Malawi half. Bhasera takes it and crosses the ball but it’s partially cleared. Kangwa picks the loose ball and tries to connect it but fails. N

35′ Musona is fouled inside Malawi half. The skipper takes the free kick¬† and strikes straight at goal from some 24 yards out. Keeper goes down and saves the shot.

32′ Free kick to Malawi just outside the box. Mhango steps up and goes for goal but the effort is too high and no problem for Mhari.

27′ Yellow card to Hadebe (Zim) for a crude challenge on the opponent.

26′ The corner kick is taken, keeper punces the ball away.

26′ Malawi Sub: Chaziya replaces injured Mzava.

25′ Big Chance: Kangwa sends in a dangerous cross into the box. Wadi comes out unmarked and connects it just a few yards out. However, he is denied by the keeper to get a corner kick.

23′ Malawi gets a free kick in Zim half. The Warriors back-line clears the danger.

22′ Bhasera whips in a cross, Kadewere, who is on the edge of the box, sets up Musona but the skipper’s long-range attempt goes wide.

20′ Yellow Card to Kangwa (Zim) for crude challenge on the opponent.

15′ Big Chance: Wadi breaks away in between the defenders and manages to flick the ball past the advancing goalkeeper. Chirwa makes a timely recovery and clears the goal-bound effort away.

11′ Big Chance: Wadi heads wide from an unmissable position after receiving a cross from Musona.

10′ Throw-in taken,¬†Mbulu receives the ball and swings in a good cross. Sanudi is at the end of it , slides in but fails to connect properly and shoots wide.

9′ Free kick to Malawi, Mhango whips in a dangerous ball but Mhari comes out and punches it away for a throw-in.

5′ Zimbabwe seeing more of the ball but are yet to create a threatening attack. Malawi are failing to break through are constantly losing possession before reaching dangerous areas.

2′ Chimwemwe picks up Musona who sets Wadi but the promising build-up falters as the ball ball goes out for a goal kick.

1′ Malawi gets the game underway.

Malawi XI: D. Chembezi, J. Banda, E. Kakhobwe, K. Muyaba, R. Mbulu, C. Idana, S. Sanudi, Mzava, Chirwa, G. Mhango, F. Madinga.

Warriors XI: P. Mhari, T. Chimwemwe, O. Bhasera, T. Hadebe, G. Takwara, K. Madzongwe, K. Musona (c), K. Benyu, I. Wadi, B. Kangwa, T. Kadewere