Procedure for CHAN 2016 Draw

The procedure for the draw of the final tournament of the Orange African Nations Championship (CHAN) Rwanda 2016 adopted by the Organising Committee of the CHAN saw the 16 qualified teams, distributed into four Pots of four teams each.

The distribution into the Pots were decided on the basis of a ranking taking into consideration the results of the various teams at the final tournament of the three previous editions of the CHAN – 2009, 2011 and 2014.

The formula adopted for each edition were: seven (7) points for the winner, five (5) points for the runner-up, three (3) points for semi-finalists, two (2) points for reaching the quarter finals and one (1) point for failing to go past the group stage.

It was decided to give the most recent editions more importance in the determination of the seeded teams; thus the 2014 edition’s points were multiplied by a co-efficient of 3, 2011 edition was 2 and 1 for the maiden edition in 2009.

Based on the above, the following 4 Pots were established:

Pot 1: Rwanda, DR Congo, Tunisia, Zimbabwe
Pot 2: Angola, Nigeria, Gabon, Mali
Pot 3: Morocco, Uganda, Cameroon, Niger
Pot 4: Ethiopia, Cote d’Ivoire, Zambia, Guinea

For the draw, scheduled for Sunday, 15 November 2015 at the Serena Hotel in Kigali at 18H00 local time; the first part will be to draw the teams in Pot 1 into groups B, C or D. Hosts Rwanda is in Group A with the position A1.

The second step will be the repartition of teams from Pot 4. The first team to be drawn goes to A4, B4 for the second, the third C4 and D4 for the forth team.

The same format will be used to draw the teams in Pot 3 and Pot 2 until the groups are complete.

The final tournament of the Orange CHAN 2016 will take place from 16 January to 7 February 2016 in Rwanda.

Group A will be based at the Amahoro Stadium in Kigali, Group B in Butare, Group C at the Nyamirambo Stadium, also in Kigali with Gisenyi hosting Group D.

Copyright © Soccer24, 2023. All Rights Reserved