FIFA announces draw seedings for Rio 2016 Olympic

FIFA has announced the football draw procedure for 2016 Rio Olympics, and the draw will be held at the prestigious Maracana Stadium in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil on Thursday, 14 April 2016.

Zimbabwe women soccer team will grace the showpiece and will go as the under dogs being the lowest Ranked team of the 12 teams particiating.

The women’s sides will be split into four pots, but their allocation to the pots will be based on the FIFA/Coca-Cola Women’s World Ranking released on 25 March.

The 12 sides will be drawn into three groups of four (named Groups E-G), and the pot allocation for the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament is as follows:

Pot 1: Brazil, USA, Germany
Pot 2: France, Australia, Sweden
Pot 3: Canada, China PR, New Zealand
Pot 4: Colombia, South Africa, Zimbabwe

The general principle for each tournament’s draw is to ensure that no group has more than one team from the same confederation.

FIFA Women’s Rankings:

Brazil [hosts (8)]
USA (1)
Germany (2)
France (3)
Australia (5)
Sweden (6)
Canada (10)
China PR (12)
New Zealand (16)
Columbia (24)
South Africa (54)
Zimbabwe (95)

Copyright © Soccer24, 2022. All Rights Reserved