8 quick facts about the Harare Derby

Soccer24 have picked up some quick facts about the Harare Derby which will be played at the National Sports Stadium on Sunday afternoon

Here are some of the interesting things about the rivalry you might want to know :

-This afternoon’s meeting will be the 79th edition of the Harare Derby with the first league clash held on 20 March 1977.

-Devon Chafa is the only player in the current squads to have won the Championship with both teams

-They are 23 soccer stars of the year produced by both teams since 1969 with Dynamos producing 15 while CAPS have eight.

-Shacky Tauro who played for CAPS is the all time top goal scorer in the Harare Derby.

-CAPS United beat Dynamos for the first time in seven years in the league with a 1-0 win last year

-Lloyd Chitembwe was the last coach to beat Dynamos in 2009 before he led his team again to first win in seven years in 2016.

-The last time Chitembwe and Mutasa came face to face, the match ended in a 3-3 draw

-Both coaches once captained their respective clubs during their playing days.

Copyright © Soccer24, 2023. All Rights Reserved