Six countries qualified for the WC on Tuesday

thumb image

Six more teams qualified for the 2018 World Cup Tuesday, with the biggest story-lines coming from the CONCACAF (North America) and CONMEBOL region (South America).

History was made when Panama qualified to the biggest football tournament for the first time when they beat Costa Rica 2-1. In South America, Argentina secured their place at the world cup after beating Ecuador  3-1. This was Argentina’s first away win in Ecuador since 2001. Uruguay and Colombia also qualified on the last match day of the CONMEBOL  qualifiers.

In Europe, two teams qualified last night.

Portugal and France booked their places at the finals after picking up wins. Portugal beat Switzerland 2-0 to finish the group on top while France faced difficulty in beating Belarus.

Tuesday saw the biggest number of teams qualifying on a single match day in the 2018 FIFA Word Cup qualifiers so far. The six latest teams will join other 17 teams already qualified.

Qualified teams

  • Russia (host)
  • Brazil (CONMEBOL)
  • Iran (AFC)
  • Japan (AFC)
  • Mexico (CONCACAF)
  • Belgium (UEFA)
  • South Korea (AFC)
  • Saudi Arabia (AFC)
  • Germany (UEFA)
  • England (UEFA)
  • Spain (UEFA)
  • Nigeria (CAF)
  • Costa Rica (CONCACAF)
  • Poland (UEFA)
  • Egypt (CAF)
  • Serbia (UEFA)
  • Iceland (UEFA)
  • France (UEFA)
  • Portugal (UEFA)
  • Uruguay (CONMEBOL)
  • Argentina (CONMEBOL)
  • Colombia (CONMEBOL)
  • Panama (CONCACAF)