Soccer star selection date set

A panel of selectors will on November 28 converge at Mandel Training in Harare to select the 11 finalists for the 2017 Castle Lager Premier Soccer League Soccer Star of the Year Award.

Although the soccer star of the year and his two runners up will be selected on the same day, their names will be kept a secret until a special banquet to be hosted by the sponsors Delta Beverages later in the year.

Apart from the soccer star of the year, the panellists will also vote for the coach of the year, Best referees and rookie of the year.

The current soccer star of the year is Caps United’s Hardlife Zvirekwi.

The Castle Soccer Star of the Year Award was introduced way back in 1969 and Dynamos’ George Shaya is a record five time holder of the title. Shaya won the award in 1969, 1972,1975, 1976, and 1977.

The only other players to have won the award more than once are the late great Stanley Ndunduma in 1981 and 1985 and Peter Ndlovu in 1990 and 1991 won the award twice each. Only Ndlovu and Caps United’s George Nechironga were in the history of the competition voted joint winners. This came about in 1990.

There are just three games to go before the end of what has been a closely-contested Castle Lager Premiership season and as the league draws to a close four teams are closely racing for the title.

Copyright © Soccer24, 2023. All Rights Reserved