Warriors fret over Danny Phiri injury

Warriors captain Denny Phiri is racing against time to recover fully ahead of the finalising of Zimbabwe CHAN squad for Rwanda.

The injury setback would be a big blow for the technical team as Phiri has been in fine form aiding his team to league glory. He has been so good such that he muscled his way in starting line up of Warriors that featured foreign based players in AFCON qualifiers against Malawi and Guinea.

Phiri who was subsequently named Soccer Star of the year is reportedly having a nagging ankle injury which was inutially thought to be fatigue and could possibly rule him out of CHAN.

In an interview with the Herald, national team coach Callisto Pasuwa said he was generally worried with the fitness levels of his squad.

“Some of the boys had to sit out and then from the 32 players that we called, Danny Phiri couldn’t finish off the training session because of his ankle injury. It was swollen and we will now have to hear from the doctors if he can continue or we send him back home.” Said Pasuwa.

The tournament is scheduled to stat on the 16th of January and Zimbabwe are in group D alongside Zambia, Uganda and Mali.

Zimbabwe squad in camp:

Elvis Chipezeze (Chicken Inn), Tatenda Mukuruva (Dynamos), Takabva Mawaya (Hwange Colliery), Donovan Bernard (How Mine)

Stephen Makatuka (CAPS United), Blessing Moyo (Dynamos), Bruce Kangwa (Highlanders), Ocean Mushure (Dynamos), Elisha Muroiwa (Dynamos), Teenage Hadebe (Highlanders), Lawrence Mhlanga (Chicken Inn), Hardlife Zvirekwi (CAPS United) Farai Madhananga (Flame Lily)

Nqobizitha Masuku (Highlanders), Tichaona Chipunza (Triangle), Ronald Chitiyo (Dynamos), Raphael Manuvire (ZPC Kariba), Tafadzwa Kutinyu (Chicken Inn), George Majika (Chicken Inn), Marshall Mudehwe (FC Platinum), William Manondo (Harare City), Danny Phiri (Chicken Inn), Gerald Takwara (FC Platinum), Joel Ngodzo (CAPS United) Hilary Bakacheza (Triangle United)
Pritchard Mpelele (Hwange Colliery FC), Rodreck Mutuma (Dynamos FC), Edmore Chirambadare (Chicken Inn FC), Brian Muzondiwa (FC Platinum), Francisco Zekumbawira (Harare City FC), Knox Mutizwa ( Highlanders FC), Moses Demera (Flame Lily FC)

Copyright © Soccer24, 2024. All Rights Reserved