Germany have released their provisional World Cup squad.

Liverpool midfielder Emre Can and Borussia Dortmund’s Mario Gotze, scorer of the winner in the World Cup final four years ago, have both been left out.

Bayern Munich goalkeeper Manuel Neuer who has been out for a long time with an injury and Borussia Dortmund winger Marco Reus are in the squad. Also included is Manchester City’s Leroy Sane.

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern), Marc-André ter Stegen (Barcelona), Bernd Leno (Bayer Leverkusen), Kevin Trapp (PSG).

Defenders: Jerome Boateng (Bayern), Mats Hummels (Bayern), Niklas Sule (Bayern), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern), Antonio Ruiger (Chelsea), Jonas Hector (Koln), Marvin Plattenhardt (Hertha BSC), Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen), Matthias Ginter (Borussia Monchengladbach)

Midfielders: Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Julian Draxler (PSG), Leon Goretzka (Schalke), Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City), Sami Khedira (Juventus), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Mesut Ozil (Arsenal), Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund), Sebastian Rudy (Bayern), Leroy Sane (Manchester City)

Forwards: Thomas Muller (Bayern), Timo Werner (RB Leipzig), Mario Gomez (Stuttgart)