Liverpool centre-back Virgil van Dijk was named as England’s PFA Player of the Year for 2019 on Sunday.

Dijk beat Manchester City’s Raheem Sterling who was also a favourite along with other four finalists – Sadio Mane, Eden Hazard, Sergio Aguero and Bernardo Silva.

He is the first defender to win the trophy since former Chelsea captain John Terry in 2005, and this is the second year in a row a Liverpool player has been named Players’ Player of the Year, after Mohamed Salah in 2018.

Sterling was named the PFA Young Player of the Year.

PFA Awards results
Men’s Player of the Year: Virgil van Dijk (Liverpoo)
Women’s Player of the Year: Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal)
Men’s Young Player of the Year: Raheem Sterling (Man City)
Women’s Young Player of the Year: Georgia Stanway (Man City)

PFA Premier League Team of the Year:
Ederson Moraes – Manchester City
Trent Alexander-Arnold – Liverpool
Virgil van Dijk – Liverpool
Aymeric Laporte – Manchester City
Andrew Robertson – Liverpool
Paul Pogba – Manchester United
Bernardo Silva – Manchester City
Fernandinho – Manchester City
Sergio Aguero – Manchester City
Raheem Sterling – Manchester City
Sadio Mané – Liverpool