Egypt announce provisional squad for Afcon

Zimbabwe’s Afcon opponents in Group A and hosts of the tournament, Egypt have named their 25-man preliminary squad.

The Pharaohs start their Afcon campaign against the Warriors on the 21st of June and round up the group stage with encounters against DR Congo and Uganda in the following days.

The provisional squad is due to begin the camp on June 6 and play two friendly matches, the first against Tanzania on June 13, and the second against Guinea three days later at Alexandria’s Borg El-Arab Stadium.

Egypt’s preliminary squad:

Goalkeepers: Ahemd El-Shennawi (Pyramids FC), Mohamed El-Shenawy (Ahly), Mahmoud Genish (Zamalek), Mohamed Abou-Gabal (Smouha).

Defenders: Ahmed Elmohamady (Aston Villa), Ahmed Hegazi (West Bromwich Albion), Omar Gaber (Pyramids FC), Ali Ghazal (Feirense), Ayman Ahsraf (Ahly), Mahmoud Hamdy (Zamalek), Baher Elmohamady (Ismaily), Ahmed Ayman Mansour (Pyramids FC), Mahmoud Alaa (Zamalek), Ahmed Aboul fotouh (Smouha).

Midfielders: Walid Soliman (Ahly), Abdallah El-Said (Pyramids FC), Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal), Tarek Hamed (Zamalek), Mahmoud “Trezeguet” Hassan (Kasimpasa), Amr Warda (Atromitos), Nabil Emad (Pyramids FC).

Forwards: Ahmed Aly (Arab Contractors), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Marwan Mohsen (Ahly), Ahmed “Kouka” Hassan (Olympiacos).

Copyright © Soccer24, 2023. All Rights Reserved